Lemon drizzle cake & Drop Scones

My mum made this when I was on holiday. & I liked it so much I made it when I returned home. It’s a delicious, lemony soft and fluffy sponge. It is also very moist and lasts really well.

Doing this blog is forcing me to practice simple techniques in cake making. I keep noticing mistakes that I make when I go through the recipes.

For example I didn’t level the tray bake enough so it came out looking lopsided.

Lopsided lemon Sponge

Lopsided lemon Sponge

Its a very simple mistake but does make a lot of diffference to the bake. I could kick myself for missing stuff like this but when you are multi tasking then little key stages can be easily omitted.

That’s the problem when you bake at home with children.  Cooking with children is like juggling act. Take the drop scones for example. I wish I could say that this was a blissful serene moment between a mother and her children. That the boys were very patient and helped their Mother with the mixing whilst we all laughed and merrily put little dustings of flour on each others noses.  The reality was that my two lovelies were asking screaming for breakfast, argued over who was going to turn on the mixer, who was going to sit next to the mixer, who was going to break the eggs. In the midst of this I was trying to make breakfast -stop the kids from killing each other – balencing them both precariously on the kitchen top & putting away an online shop.  The Great British bake Off  seems a breeze compared do my weekly experiences of baking.

Oh and the drop scones were delicious. They are similar to the Scotch pancakes that I made the other week. The boys like them with Chocolate spread, lemon and sugar but I prefer them with Greek Yogurt, blueberries and maple syrup.

 

Till the next time.

Yum

Yum

Leave a comment